Silver Super Challenge Grand Final Success makes it 8 Premierships for Season 23-24 

Hawthorn had a successful season in the Silver Division of the Club Super Challenge.  Our team finished top of the table.  The competition was very tight and there were no certainties with results in finals.

Due to weather conditions during the season games were rescheduled.  This affected the availability of some players especially for finals.  Nevertheless all clubs presented capable teams in perfect conditions for the final series. 

The Silver semi-finals for the right to play the Grand Final were played at Walkerville on the 13th April.  With both semis finishing with 2 rinks up and 2 down, knock outs were needed to decide the two Grand Finalists.  Each team selected 3 players to contest the three end singles. Hawthorn nominated Dennis Crawley, Christine Keller and Ron Zanker.  All three were successful in defeating their Toorak Burnside opposition.  Somerton were also successful in defeating Walkerville in their play offs.

The following day, starting at noon, Hawthorn hosted the Bowls SA Night Owls 5AA State finals.  In the evening the Super Challenge Grand Finals were played.  Willunga V Kensington Marryatville in Bronze, Hawthorn V Somerton in the Silver and Adelaide V Modbury in Gold.  At the end of play all finals needed play offs to decide the winners.

The Hawthorn V Somerton Grand Final was very close throughout the evening.  Finally a one shot win to Hawthorn in the triples after 21 ends.  The singles was a tight contest.  Steve had a slower start and although he closed the gap to within 2 shots near the end, Somerton secured the win.  The fours held a small margin for most of the match and finished 8 shots up.   However, our pairs lost, making it 2 each.  Again we had to contest a 3 end knockout with three singles players.  Dennis Crawley, Christine Keller and Steve Moloney represented us on this occasion and each was successful in winning and clinching the Silver Grand Final win for Hawthorn.  A very exciting and great way to finish the competition for players and spectators.

Trophies and medals for winning players were announced by Ash Halls, competition organiser, and presented by Adam Hateley, Australian Manager and distributor of Taylor Bowls Australia.  Bronze was won by Kensington Marryatville and Gold was won by Adelaide.

Special thanks to all the volunteers at Hawthorn who marked, umpired, prepared and cooked food, served at the bar, set up facilities, prepared the greens and surrounds for a most enjoyable day’s play.

Christine KellerChair of Competition

Left to right in the photo:   Steve Moloney, Grant Fisher, Ron Zanker, Dennis Crawley, Terry Onto, Anne Onto, Adam Hateley (Taylor Bowls), Christine Keller, Jim Bell, Malcolm Keller, Shane Newton.
Other team members Col Watkins and Joan Prosser.